Dearest Precious New Mommies

New mom, baby, newborn, sham, stay at home mom, advice, help, babycenter, breastfeeding, wife, newlywed, a pea in the pod, motherhood maternityHello my new mommies or soon-to-be mommies out there. Let me start by saying how beautiful and wonderful you are. You may feel overwhelmed, unsure, maybe even like you’re failing. Sleep deprivation is no joke. Not to be outdone by giving birth to the most precious and important person of your life that you so desperately hope you don’t break. My first task for you is to RELAX. It gets easier, and much sooner than it may feel like right now. In the near future you will feel like you are no longer going to maim or harm your baby in some way and your baby will start SLEEPING more and more.

Now, for those of you that have been at this a while longer, especially those who have decided to be a SAHM (stay-at-home-mom), not to exclude you who work (I’ve been in your shoes and they’re no easier) I have a few things I’ve learned for you too. Firstly, you are not alone!! Second, you can and you will succeed and this is the HARDEST thing you’ll ever do! Thirdly, RELAX (noticing a theme here).

If you’re like me, and I know there are plenty of you introverts out there, I need a good deal of adult interaction. My hubby is a firefighter, meaning he’s gone for well over 24 hours at a time. It didn’t take long at all for me to feel like I was stranded on an island by myself. It also didn’t take me long to feel like I was losing completely who I was. This is what I want to talk about.

I jumped headfirst into staying at home with my daughter from working more than full time and being the breadwinner of the household. I went back to work after I had her. It didn’t work out and I was suddenly at home. I never planned to stay home. I commend you ladies who planned for this, but I was honest with myself and knew that career would always be important and a key component of what I identified with in myself.

Well, when God closes one door, He opens another. I am beyond grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to spend time raising our daughter. I am also equally grateful to my incredible husband for picking up the slack until I was able to do so again. However; with a 1 year old attached to my hip and no childcare as an option, not only had my career hit a screeching halt, but my main stress relief in dancing did too. I was left spiraling a pretty good bit. Compound that with post-partum depression, and phew, I needed a change. I needed an outlet. Something that was mine again.

That’s when I began Beachbody Coaching. I had always been that person who could throw together workouts and recipes and help my friends and family with various goals. It hasn’t been easy. It’s taken major dedication and perseverance. Not everyone understands when you’re first starting out and working up the nerve to talk to people that you really do want to help them and that you really aren’t a used car salesman. Anyway, my point is to find your outlet. Find a project or hobby that you can work into your day. Exercise(No really. It’s stress relief, anxiety relief, and an energy booster. You need ALL of those things). Get out of the house; introverts especially. Get into the sun, soak up that vitamin D. Do the things that make you feel like yourself (in fact, make a list and place it somewhere you’ll see it daily). I started getting ready and making myself feel good by putting on makeup and a cute, yet comfortable outfit. Treat yourself. Let the grandparents keep the little one(s). Go get your nails/hair done. Get a message. My bottom line is focus some on YOU. You can only be the best version of yourself for your family when you do. So by treating yourself, you’re actually doing something for them anyhow.

You’re strong, beautiful, and a miracle-worker mama!! ♥️♥️💗💗

Leave a Reply

